Politics in
Welcome to MONTENET the  window with a view of MONTENEGRO
index of montenet
Parliamentary Parties in Montenegro
News and Press Cut
The Political System of Montenegro

Montenegro's Parliament approved the Republican Constitution on 12 October 1992. This established Montenegro as a democratic sovereign state. Power is vested in its citizens, who exercise it directly through the election of representatives to the Parliament. Decisions related to changes in constitutional status or to an alteration of borders are subject to a vote of the citizens of Montenegro exercised in a referendum.
Milo Djukanovic - The President of Republic of Montenegro Filip Vujanovic, Priminister of Republic of Montenegro
President of Montenegro: Mr. Milo Djukanovic (DPS) Prime Minister of Montenegro: Mr. Filip Vujanovic (DPS)
Montenegro follows the principle of division of powers. Its judicial, legislative, and executive branches are independent of each other. The judiciary is autonomous and independent. The rulings of the courts must be in accordance with the Constitution and the laws of Montenegro. Appointment to a judiciary position is permanent.

Parliament passes all laws of the land, ratifies international treaties, appoints the Prime Minister, ministers, and justices of all courts, adopts the budget and performs other duties as established by the Constitution. The Parliament can pass a vote of no-confidence on the Government by a majority of the members. One deputy is elected per 6 000 voters, which in turn results in a reduction of total number of deputies in the Assembly of Montenegro (the present assembly convening comprises 78 deputies instead of previous number of 71). After the elections held on 31.05.1998, seven parties are currently represented in the Montenegrin Parliament. The Democratic Party of Socialists (DPS) holds 30 seats; People's Party 7; Social Democratic Party (SDP) 5; Socialist People's Party (SNP) 29; Liberal Alliance of Montenegro 5;  Democratic Alliance of Montenegro 1, and Democratic League of Albanians 1 seat. DPS, SDP, and People's Party comprise the coalition "For a Better Life" and has a majority in the Montenegrin Parliament (42 seats). 

The president of the Republic is elected for a period of five years through direct and secret ballots. The President represents the Republic in the country and abroad; promulgates laws; calls for Parliamentary elections; proposes to the Parliament a candidate for the Prime Minister, as well as for the president and justices of the Constitutional Court; proposes the holding of a referendum; grants pardons; and confers honors and decorations.

The Government formulates and conducts foreign policy; adopts decrees and other regulations; implements laws; concludes international treaties; establishes the organization and the mode of operation of the government administration; and performs other duties as laid down in the Constitution. The present Government is comprised of members of the Coalition "For Better Life", thus Democratic Party of Socialists (DPS), People's Party, and Social Democratic Party (SDP).

The Prime Minister directs the work of the Government, and submits to the Parliament the Government's Program including a list of proposed ministers. The resignation of the Prime Minister will cause the fall of the Government.

    Results of the Parliamentary Elections held 31.05.'98.
    Results of the Second Round of Presidential Elections (19.10.97)
    The Last Election Results (CESID)(CEMI)

[Index] [Profile] [People] [Geography] [History] [Culture] [Art] [Language] [Religion] [Miscellaneous
[Site-map] [News] [Politics] [Law] [Economy] [Travel] [Sports] [Letters] [Links] [ExYu] [EE&Russia]

 Comments and suggestions are welcome and selected will be published
Montenet 1997
 All rights reserved. Last updated  June 1998